Coffee is part of most people’s morning rituals. How people take their coffee is a very individual thing. Some take their brew simple and black. Others stir in cream and sugar. A few even like fancy combinations with seasonal flavors. Many coffee lovers don’t give much thought to the things they add into their favorite morning beverage. If you are someone who likes to dump in non-dairy creamer into your java, this article may make you reconsider that choice.
For those of you who choose non-dairy creamer because you are a vegan, lactose intolerant or have a milk allergy you should be warned that they still often contain casein even though they are usually lactose free. Casein is a milk protein that can trigger reactions for those with milk sensitivities. Companies add casein to give the substance a milky flavor and texture.
Here are some of the other common ingredients in non-dairy creamers that you should avoid:
- Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil
- High-Fructose Corn Syrup
- Cellulose Gel or Cellulose Gum
- Polysorbate 60
- Dipotassium Phosphate
- Mono-Diglycerides and Diglycerides
- Monosodium glutamate (MSG)
- Sodium Caseinate
- Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate (SSL)
If you are a flavored non-dairy creamer lover who wants to make a healthier change, you can easily make your own non-dairy creamer. It takes minimal ingredients and little effort to prepare. Store your homemade creation in a glass jar in the fridge for up to a week.
Homemade Non-Dairy Creamer
- 1 can of coconut milk
- 4 Tbls pure maple syrup
- 1 Tbls vanilla extract
Blend all ingredients until smooth.